The Board of Trustees is the governing body and the main deliberative organ of IDO, providing support and oversight to the Organization, in accordance with the overall policy guidance of the IDO General Assembly and the Advisory Board. The Board of Trustees reviews IDO activities and approves its policies, community’s programmes and budgets. It comprises of seven (7) members, each of whom has one vote. Decisions on important questions, such as admission of new Board Members and budgetary matters, require a two-thirds majority. Decisions on other questions are reached by a simple majority.

The Board of Trustees meets quarterly in each calendar year, in a first regular session (April), second regular session (September) and annual regular session (December/January). The Office of the Secretary of the Board of Trustees supports and services the Board of Trustees. It is responsible for maintaining an effective relationship between the Board of Trustees, Advisory Board and the IDO’s Management, and helps to organize the field visits of the Trustees. The Secretary-General also provides editorial and technical services for all documentation related to the Board of Trustees sessions and meetings, decisions, reports of sessions and the national programme documents repository.

The General Assembly and Board of Trustees are the policy making bodies while the Executive is responsible for the day-to-day routine management and operations of IDO. The Board also assumes all the legal responsibilities as Trustees for the organization (IDO). Current Board members includes:

  1. Mr. Paul Terensio Wani – Board’s Chair
  2. Mr. Both Nguot Tol – Treasurer
  3. Mr. Wol Deng Akech – Secretary General
  4. Mr. James Ring Chuol – Trustee
  5. Mr. Reech Malual Majok – Trustee
  6. Mr. Albino Akol Thony – Trustee